The earliest documented mention of the village of Olšany in writing dates back to 1306. In the middle of the 14th century, the second estate in Olšany became the property of an Old Town citizen, Štěpán Puš, the owner of Dolní Počernice. At the time, the property included three cottages, fields, meadows, ponds and vineyards. In 1394, a farm with a pond and vineyard was mentioned in the former Olšany; it belonged to the Ambrosian order. During the Hussite wards, the monastery ceased to exist and a sequence of owners held the farm. At the end of the 14th century, there were two estates, three cottages and the pond in Olšany.
In the last decades of the 19th century the independent village practically merged with the rapidly growing Žižkov, although its rural character remained noticeable in many aspects until the extensive razing in the 1970’s. Its natural centre was the market area in front of St. Roch Church, later called Radešínovo Square.
From 1838, the tiny house no. 16 hosted a school which had to manage an influx of new pupils from families who had just moved into the area in the 1860’/1870’s. The Green Tree pub was very popular. It had a pleasant seating area below the old trees, and it must have been an extraordinary experience for the children if they saw a group of visiting householders in their distinctive attire.